Have You Hugged A Book Today?- February 2017

A Brief Note: I wrote this post a week ago and then forgot to post it. I’m posting it as-is and backdating it, mostly because I’m in the midst of editing and don’t feel like rewriting the whole thing. I’ll try to do better next month, promise! ;D

readingchallengefeb17

I read three books and I’m STILL two books behind! Argh! I need to read more comics, just so I can feel like I accomplished something…

Here’s the link to my star rating breakdown if anyone needs a refresher. It’s also up in the header 🙂

  • Books I’m Currently Reading:
    1. Miles, Mutants, and Microbes (Vorkosigan Omnibus #5) by Lois McMaster Bujold– I know it seems weird that I’m reading #5 after #6, but in the continuity of the series, it actually makes more sense. Also, I’m loving the Quaddies and I feel very strongly for them. They are all my precious children and I greatly desire their freedom from the evil Corporation…
    2. Fool Moon (The Dresden Files, #2) by Jim Butcher– Holy crap, this is leaps and bounds better than Storm Front! Not just the story, but the narration and production is infinitely better. I’m very excited and looking forward to the end 🙂
  • Books I’ve Finished:
    1. Storm Front (The Dresden Files, #1), by Jim Butcher- Three Stars
    2. Miles in Love (Vorkosigan Omnibus #6), by Lois McMaster Bujold- Five Stars

Fog’s Book of the Month
A Monster CallsA Monster Calls by Patrick Ness

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Oh this book… It was moving, and heartfelt, and most importantly it was just so REAL. I know it sounds strange to say that about a book with Monster in the title, but it really was all about speaking the truth. Even when it’s hard, even when you don’t want to face it, even if it isn’t what you think it is. It was beautiful and heartbreaking and I highly recommend it to anyone and everyone.

Addendum (from one of my early notes during reading): “It’s not often that I’m sold on a book as early as the Author’s Note, but Mr. Ness, you had me at ‘So go. Run with it. Make trouble.’

View all my reviews

The Destructive Creativity Corner (Instagram, @fogisbeautiful)

I haven’t done much with my “F*nish Th*s B**k” this past month, but I do have one post I can share.

That’s all! See you guys in March!

One thought on “Have You Hugged A Book Today?- February 2017

Leave a Reply

